Harlow Labour have written to Robert Halfon detailing their opposition to the proposed suspension of Sunday trading hours and have urged him to stand with shop workers in Harlow by opposing the government’s plans.

The full text can be found beneath the image of the letter.

Harlow Labour CLP and group of Councillor
Harlow Labour CLP and group of Councillor's letter to Robert Halfon MP

Dear Robert Halfon MP,


We hope this letter finds you well.


We are writing to request you join our call on the government not to suspend Sunday trading hours, plans which have been rejected by the union USDAW and some retailers alike.


We believe the Governments desire to help the retail sector is admirable however, these measures would be a hindrance rather than a help to our shops and shop workers across Harlow.


Shop workers are playing a vital role in Harlow, working longer hours, in difficult and testing conditions during this pandemic and we thank them immensely for all their hard work. Suspending Sunday trading hours will be putting extra pressure on their shoulders, potentially extra costs and stress to themselves in having to find childcare, for example and for little to no potential economic benefit.


It is a widely held belief among retailers and trade unions that opening for longer on Sundays is not economically viable. It will add costs to overheads whilst seeing little increase of money through the tills of our shops.


It is our belief therefore that this policy will do little to improve economic activity, whilst asking even more of those who are already working round the clock to ensure we are able to purchase the supplies and goods we need throughout this crisis. Our shop workers need and deserve a break on Sundays.


It is for these reasons we urge you to join us in standing up for our retail businesses and shop workers in Harlow by calling on the government not to suspend Sunday trading hours




Councillor Mark Ingall, Leader of Harlow Council

Councillor Eugenie Harvey, Deputy Leader of Harlow Council

Councillor Jean Clark

Councillor Michael Danvers

Councillor Bob Davis

Councillor Jodi Dunne

Councillor Tony Durcan

Councillor Tony Edwards

Councillor Margaret Hulcoop

Councillor Shannon Jezzard

Councillor Frances Mason

Councillor Stefan Mullard

Councillor Danny Purton

Councillor Lanie Shears

Councillor John Strachan

Councillor Emma Toal

Councillor Chris Vince

Councillor Nancy Watson

Councillor Phil Waite

Councillor Mark Wilkinson

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search